Whole wheat bread

The first bread! I am all smiles 🙂

We had this last sachet of yeast… All others were used up in the banana cakes that my husband bakes. On the other hand, the only thing I have ever baked before is bread pudding.

I decided to keep it simple. The only conditions I wanted to follow were skipping refined sugar and using whole wheat flour. I activated the yeast sachet in a cupful of warm water with a spoon of maple syrup and let it mature for ten minutes. In a different pot, I gathered four cups of whole wheat flour, four tablespoon of olive oil, teaspoon of sea salt. With the matured yeast concoction and another cup of water, I kneaded the dough and let it rise for an hour. Meanwhile, I had preheated oven on 425 F.

I oiled and dusted my cast iron skillet with oat flakes. For baking, I transfered the dough to the skillet, sprinkled it with rosemary, sesame, and few drops of olive oil. After about 45 minutes, it was done 🙂

image

Since we already had had our dinner we didn’t eat it right away. But who can totally abstain from the temptation of fresh hot bread? So we treated ourselves to slices and packed the rest for tomorrow’s brunch. It had baked perfectly with spongy insides with a pleasantly roasted crust. It has definitely left it’s afterglow on my face which has a toothy wide grin, all throughout the evening 🙂

One thought on “Whole wheat bread

Leave a Reply

