Avocado Crouton Vegetable Salad

dsc_0455.jpg

Last evening, I came home knowing that there were two perfectly ripe avocados in my kitchen basket, which needed to be used at once. Not really an obligation, considering my new-found obsession for them. I love avocados in all forms. So even yesterday, I could have happily settled for avocado toast or guacamole.  Then, I had a sudden craving that I should diversify a bit, and somehow increase the vegetable portion in my meal. Yet, I was too tired for making any elaborate plan and preparation. The quick fix, then I thought, would come from an avocado salad bowl. I always have packets of cut frozen vegetable soup or stir fry mixes in my freezer. Using one of those, and some other common residents of my kitchen pantry, I prepared the following:

AVOCADO CROUTON VEGETABLE SALAD

Ingredients:

2 ripe avocados
A mix of soup/ stir fry vegetables (carrot, corn, green beans, peas, potato, leek)
1 cup vegetable stock
2 bread toasts, cut into crouton-sized chunks
1-2 tbspoons of lemon juice
1-2 tbspoons of herb mix or za’atar spice mix
Dash or two of olive oil
Salt to taste

Method:

  1. Stone, peel, and chop/ pulp avocados.
  2. Warm a dash of olive oil in a wok, and stir the vegetable mix on high heat. Sprinkle some salt and herb/ spice mix over it, add a cup of stock (or water) and let the vegetable cook in the combined juices, for about 5 minutes.
  3. Once vegetables are cooked, take the wok off the heat/ flame.
  4. Add avocado pulp and toasted croutons over the vegetables. Squeeze lime juice over everything and mix well.

It was unassuming, yet comforting and tasty. Perfect for the week night dinner, when you want a healthy home-cooked meal at the least expense of time  and energy.

 

2 thoughts on “Avocado Crouton Vegetable Salad

Leave a comment